REVIEW- A Living Nightmare by Darren Shan (Cirque du Freak #1)

A Living Nightmare by Darren Shan (Cirque du Freak #1)

cirque

Who knew going to a freak show would cause so much trouble? Darren didn’t. Now caught up in a mess only one person can fix, well, not really fix but make things worse for everyone. All because a stupid spider caught his eye. This path leads him into the mysterious dark world of vampires. A world that he will never escape from.

I watched the movie on Netflix first and it caught my interest. I didn’t think it was going to be so good that I would want to read the books, I read the first two yesterday and then the third today. It was like they drew me in…

excited-baby

The book was an easy read as I got it finished so quickly (It’s also a children’s book) but I loved it, the characters were so intriguing and it was such a unique concept for a book. Who knew a book about vampires and a freak show would be so interesting?

Be prepared for an all male cast of characters but I found that I wasn’t specifically needing any females in this book. I was happy with it. I was too concentrated on the plot and what was happening. The twists and turns of the myths of vampires were mainly pointed to boys but that doesn’t stop us girls does it? (The gif is a joke, it’s not sexist)

thats-sexist

By the end of the book things are left open (Probably preparing you for the next 11 books) but not on that cliff hanger type way that we all hate. I must say it keeps you going with the series. I thought that I would stop on the first book but no. I spent till midnight reading the second book.

deadtired

I quite liked this book and I think that it would be good for kids to read, if they are into vampires and things. It’s different to anything I’ve read before and definitely pulls you in from the first word.

I rate this book a 🌟🌟🌟🌟 out of five stars!


IMG_3903

2 thoughts on “REVIEW- A Living Nightmare by Darren Shan (Cirque du Freak #1)

  1. I can’t wait to read this now… it’s been on my to read list ever since I watched the movie as a kid and the fact thatnit is the only series my brother ever like but now It’s near the top of my list to read… I can thank you for that… 😁

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

