REVIEW – The Midnight Star by Marie Lu (The Young Elites #3)

The Midnight Star by Marie Lu (The Young Elites #3)

morning-star-cover-600

Now Adelina has everything that she has ever wanted, her reign over pretty much everything has been triumphant but her cruelty has only grown. Only Magiano keeps her anchored down so she does not spiral into madness. A dark power comes across the land and all of the marked can feel it. Now, she is forced to revisit everything she left behind and has to trust the people who made her life horrible. Will she really trust them? What will become of her now?

(Sorry about that bad synopsis, I don’t know what to write without giving it all away)

First things first, in the second book I said that ‘the main character got so out of hand and she was pretty annoying’. I literally want to throw that review away after reading this book. Adelina’s story was even more amazing in this book (Comparing to the first) and even though she was a tiny bit annoying at the start she got better. I felt like she changed once again, at some parts, back to what she was in the first book (Though not as innocent). I liked this change making me love the character even more.

This brings me back to Magiano. Oh my! I am so glad he was here… He kept Adelina from going mad, he loved her and cherished her. In their moments together I would forget that she was ‘evil’ and look at them like they were the most normal couple ever. Their story together broke my heart (NOT TELLING).

The book was a little short; a total of 316 pages which is way less than the previous book (398 pages, The Rose Society). I felt that it was a tiny bit rushed and a tiny bit short but it was still good enough to keep me hooked. I also would have liked to see how much she was struggling, yes, we saw how she hid the voices in her head but I just didn’t get the feeling that that part of her was not explained.

Of course, the cover is be-a-u-tiful but I am not entirely sure it ‘matches’ the others. I know that it relates to the end of the book but I wasn’t liking it at the start.

THE END OF THE BOOK was a complete shocker. It was something that I never thought would happen. Ever. I almost burst into tears. Over these 316 pages, I hadn’t realised I had gotten SO attached to Adelina that I didn’t see it coming. Marie Lu, you have officially killed me. Thank you for a great trilogy.

I rate this book a *DRUM ROLL PLEASE* 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 out of 5 stars!

Thank you!

I am probably the worst person in the world for not posting and all I can say is sorry.

IMG_3903

Leave a Reply

